South America

Vis stort kort

South America is the southern continent of the Americas, situated in the Western Hemisphere and mostly in the Southern Hemisphere, with a relatively small portion in the Northern Hemisphere. It is bordered on the west by the Pacific Ocean and on the north and east by the Atlantic Ocean; North America and the Caribbean Sea lie to the northwest.

The word America was coined in 1507 by cartographers Marin Waldseemüller and Matthias Ringmann, after Amerigo Vespucci, who was the first European to suggest that the lands newly discovered by Europeans were not India, but a New World unknown to Europeans. 

South America has an area of 17,840,000 square kilometers (6,890,000 sq mi), or almost 3.5% of the Earth's surface. As of 2005, its population was estimated at more than 371,090,000. South America ranks fourth in area (after Asia, Africa and North America) and fifth in population (after Asia, Africa, Europe and North America)





Out of the 67 Aquarias and Zoos only 27 have 200 species ore more, and thereby being a big institution. You finde these in Argentina (1 Zoo in Batan and Presidencia Roque Saenz Pena), Bolivia (1 Zoo in Santa Cruz), Brazil (3 Aquaria and 11 zoos), Chile (1 Zoo in Buin), Colombia (1 aquarium in Santa Marta and 1 Zoo in Cali), Peru (3 Zooer in Lima and Pucallpa), Uruguay (2 Zoos in Atlantida and Durazno) and Venezuela (1 Aquarium in Valencia and 1 Zoo in Caracas). The biggest Aquarium is in Valencia in Venezuela and the biggest Zoo is in Sao Paulo in Brazil. 

Free entrance at:

Parque las Delicias in Maracay - Venezuela
Lav din egen hjemmeside med