Vis stort kort

Peru, officially the Republic of Peru, is a country in western South America. It is bordered on the north by Ecuador and Colombia,  on the east by Brazil, on the southeast by Bolivia, on the south by Chile, and on the west by the Pacific Ocean. 


Peruvian territory was home to the Norte Chico civilization, one of the oldest in the world, and to the Inca Empire, the largest state in Pre-Columbian America. The Spanish Empire conquered the region in the 16th century and established a Viceroyalty, which included most of its South American colonies. After achieving independence in 1821, Peru has undergone periods of political unrest and fisical crisis as well as periods of stability and economic upswing.


Peru is a representattive democratic republic divided into 25 regions. Its geography varies from the arid plains of the Pacific coast to the peaks of the Andes mountains and the tropical forests of the Amazon Basin. It is a developing country with a high Human Development Index score and a poverty level around 36%. Its main economic activities include agriculture, fishing, mining, and manufacturing of products such as textiles.


The Peruvian population, estimated at 33.1 million, is multiethnic, including Amerindians, Europeans, Africans and Asians. The main spoken language is Spanish, although a significant number of Peruvians speak Quechua or other native languages. This mixture of cultural traditions has resulted in a wide diversity of expressions in fields such as art, cuisine, literature, and music.

Capital and biggest city is Lima





The President of Peru is it's Head of State, he is elected for every 5th year, and can not be electe twice in a row. The Head of Government is the Prime Minister, he is chosen by the President.




The country has 3  zoos mentioned on these pages in the cities of Lima and Pucallpa




Most western Countrys do not need a Visa




International callingcode is +51




The countrys curency is the Nuevo Sol (PEN)
Lav din egen hjemmeside med