Vis stort kort

Guadeloupe is an archpelago located in the Leeward Islands, in the Lesser Antilles, with a land area of 1,628 square kilometres (629 sq. mi) and a population of 400,000. It is the first overseas region of France, consisting of a single overseas departement. As with the other overseas departments, Guadeloupe is also one of the twenty-six regions of France (being an overseas region) and an integral part of the Republic since 2007.


As part of France, Guadeloupe is part of the European Union; hence, as for most EU countries, its currency is the euro. However, Guadeloupe is not part of the Schengen Area. The prefecture and the capital of Guadeloupe is Basse-Terre.


Christopher Colombus named the island Santa María de Guadalupe in 1493 after the Virgin Mary, venerated in the Spanish town of Guadelupe, in Extremadura.

Capital city is Paris(France), the régions capital is Basse-Terre


The biggest city is Point-à-Pitre


The President of France is it's Head of State, he is elected for every 5th year. The Head of Government is the Prime Minister of France, he is chosen by the President. The judicary is independent of the executive and the legislature. And is taken care by the Regional Council. President of the Regional Council is the elected official who heads the conseil régional of a région, a state-level territory. Guadeloupe is its own région.


The Country has one aquarium mentioned on these pages in the city of Le Gosier


Most western Countrys do not need a Visa


International callingcode is +33


The Countrys curency is the Euro
Lav din egen hjemmeside med