Slovenia, officially the Republic of Slovenia, is a country in Central Europe touching the Alps and bordering the Mediterranean. Slovenia borders Italy on the west, the Adriatic Sea on the southwest, Croatia on the south and east, Hungary on the northeast, and Ausria on the north. The capital and largest city of Slovenia is Ljubljana. For nearly 1,000 years, Slovenia has been influenced by its neighbouring countries, particularly Italy, Austria and Croatia as its geographic position lies at the crossroads of Germanic, Latin and Slavic cultures.


Slovenia covers an area of 20,273 square kilometres and has a population of 2.06 million. Around 40% of Slovenia's land mass is elevated land—mostly in the form of mountains and plateaus—which is located in the interior regions of the country. The highest point of Slovenia is the 2,864 metre (9,396 ft) high Mount Triglay. The majority of the population speaks Slovene, which is also the country's official language. Other local official languages are Hungarian and Italian.


Slovenia is a member of the European Union, the Eurozone, the Schengen area, the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe, the Council of Europe, NATO, UNESCO, WTO, OECD and UN. Per capita, it is the richest Slavic nation-state, and is 85.5% of the EU27 average GDP (PPP) per capita.

Capital and biggest city is Ljubljana


The President of Slovenia is it's Head of State, he is elected for every 5th year and can run for election twice. The Head of Government is the Prime Minister, he is chosen by the Parliament.


The country has one zoos and 2 aquarias mentioned on these pages in the citys of Ljubljana, Maribor and Piran


Most western do not need a Visa


International callingcode is +386


The countrys curency is the Euro
Lav din egen hjemmeside med