United Arab Emirat

Vis stort kort

The United Arab Emirates (abbreviated UAE) is a federation situated in the southeast of the Arabian Peninsula in Southwest Asia on the Persian Gulf, bordering Oman and Saudi Arabia and sharing sea borders with Iraq, Kuwait, Bahrain, Qatar and Iran. The UAE consists of seven states, termed emirates, (because they are ruled by Emirs) which are Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm al-Quwain, Ras al-Khaimah and Fujairah. The capital and second largest city of the United Arab Emirates is Abu Dhabi. It is also the country's center of political, industrial and cultural activities.


Before 1971, the UAE was known as the Trucial States or Trucial Oman, in reference to a 19th-century truce between the United Kingdom and several Arab Sheiks. The name Pirate Coast was also used in reference to the area's emirates from the 18th to the early 20th century.


The political system of the United Arab Emirates, based on the 1971 Constitution, is composed of several intricately connected governing bodies. Islam is the official religion, and Arabic is the official language. 


The United Arab Emirates has the world's seventh largest oil reserves and possesses one of the most developed economies in West Asia. It is currently the twenty-second largest economy at market exchange rates, and has a high per capita gross demestic product, with a nominal per capita GDP of US$49,995 as per the IMF. The country is fourteenth largest in purchasing power per capita and has a relatively high Human Development Index for the Asian continent, ranking 32nd globally. The United Arab Emirates is classified as a high-income developing economy by the IMF. 


The form of government used in UAE is a constitutional monarchy with a presidental system of government. It is a founding member of the Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf, and a member state of the Arab League. It is also a member of the United Nations, the Organisation of the Islamic Conference, the OPEC, and the World Trade Organization. 

The the monarch of Abu Dhabi is the President of the UAE and is it's Head of State. The ruler of Dubai is the Head of Government and it's Prime Minister



The country has 4 aquarium and 5 zoos mentioned on these pages.






Most western do not need a Visa






International callingcode is +971






The countrys curency is the UAE Dirham (AED)

Lav din egen hjemmeside med mono.net