Vis stort kort

The Republic of Cuba is an island country in the Caribbean. The nation of Cuba consists of the main island of Cuba, the Isla de la Juventud, and several archipelagos. Havana is the largest city in Cuba and the country's capital. Santiago de Cuba is the second largest city. To the north of Cuba lies the United States and the Bhamas, Mexico is to the west, the Cayman Islns and Jamaica are to the south, and Haiti and the Dominican Republic are to the Southeast.


In 1492, Christopher Columbus found and claimed the island now occupied by Cuba, for the Kingdom of Spain. Cuba remained territory of Spain until the Spanish American War ended in 1898, and gained formal independence from the U.S. in 1902. Between 1953-1959 the Cuban Revolution occurred, removing the dictatorship of Fulgenico Batista, and installing a government led by Fidel Castro. 


Cuba is home to over 11 million people and is the most populous island nation in the Caribbean. Its people, culture, and customs draw from diverse sources, such as the aboriginal Taíno and Ciboney peoples, the period of Spanish colonialism, the introduction of African slaves and its proximity to the United States. 


Cuba has a 100% literacy rate, an infant death rate lower than some developed countries, and an average age expectancy of 77.64. Cuba is the only nation in the world which meets the WWF's definition of sustainable development; having a ecological footprint of less than 1.8 hectares per capita and a Human Development Index over 0.8.

Capital and biggest city is Havana





The President of Cuba is it's Head of State and the The Head of Government. The President of the Council of State is elected by the National Assembly of People's Power. National elections to the assembly take place every five years.



The country has 3 zoos and one aqurium mentioned on these pages 



Most western countrys do need a Visa




International callingcode is +53




The countrys curency is the Cuban Peso (CUP)
Lav din egen hjemmeside med