Vis stort kort

Bolivia, officially known as the Plurinational State of Bolivia, is a landlocked country in central South America. It is bordered by Brazil to the north and east, Paraguay and Argentina to the south, and Chile and Peru to the west.


Prior to European colonization, the Andean region of Bolivia was a part of the Inca Empire - the largest state in Pre-Columbian America. The Spanish Empire conquered the region in the 16th century. During most of the Spanish colonial period, this territory was called Upper Peru and was under the administration of the Viceroyalty of Peru, which included most of Spain's South American colonies. After declaring independence in 1809, 16 years of war followed before the establishment of the Republic, named for Simón Bolívar, on 6 August 1825. Bolivia has struggled through periods of political instability, dictatorships and economic woes.


Bolivia is a Democratic Republic that is divided into nine departments. Its geography is varied from the peaks of the Andes in the West, to the Eastern Lowlands, situated within the Amazon Basin. It is a developing country, with a Medium Human Development Index score, and a poverty level around 60%. Its main economic activities include agriculture, forestry, fishing, mining, and manufacturing goods such as textiles, clothing, refined metals, and refined petroleum. Bolivia is very wealth in minerals, especially tin.


The Bolivian population, estimated at 10 million, is multiethnic, including Amerindians, Mestizos, Europeans, Asians, and Africans. The main language spoken is Spanish, although the Aymara and Quechua languages are also common and all three, as well as 34 other indigenous languages, are official. The large number of different cultures within Bolivia has contributed greatly to a wide diversity in fields such as art, cuisine, literature, and music. With the current administration of Evo Morales, Bolivia's government has championed nationalization of foreign owned corporations and social justice as a way to deal with perceived widespread inequalities between the indigenous and mestizo populations.

Constitutional Capital is Sucre


The government has its seat in La Paz


The biggest city is Santa Cruz de la Sierra


The President of Bolivia is it's Head of State and Government. According to the current Constitition, the president is elected by popular vote for a single non-renewable five year term.


The country has one zoo mentioned on these pages in the city of Santa Cruz


Most western do need a Visa, except some countrys frome the EU


International callingcode is +591


The countrys curency is the Boliviano
Lav din egen hjemmeside med